Taraxaci herba

Services

Schedule of Services Phytax Ltd

Phytax performs analyses in the following areas:

  • Identity of plant material and other natural products
  • Quantitative determination of content
  • Purity tests
  • Toxicological assessments and risk analysis
  • Safety Data Sheets

Analyses are performed according to all regulatory requirements, particularly the pharmacopoeia of Europe, China, Taiwan, Japan and the US, as well as the country-specific requirements for food regulations.

Botanical Identity:

Botanical identity of plant material regardless of its origin or form.

Since its establishment in 1998, Phytax has developed a great expertise in the botanical identification of plant material from China, which in the 1980s, first came in the form of dried plant parts (roots, leaves, fruits, seeds, wood...) and a little later also as dry and liquid extracts. All of these forms are used by German-speaking doctors and therapists of Traditional Chinese medicine (TCM). To complicate matters further, many of these medicinal forms are also pre-treated, for example by boiling, roasting or, sometimes with the addition of agents such as vinegar, rice wine, honey, ginger juice or certain minerals. Such pre-treatments further complicate the analyses.

The herbs from China originate either from wild collection or from cultivated stock, resulting in highly variable products. Thus falsifications, either deliberate or otherwise were and still are, not uncommon.

Phytax has developed in-house herbal monographs whose enriched detail frequently goes beyond that of the often inadequate, standard pharmacopoeia descriptions of certain countries.

Today Phytax has thousands of reference plants, sample extracts, microtome sections, thin layer chromatograms, HPLC and FT-IR spectra, a comprehensive library of technical literature, especially highly specialized original Chinese literature, and thanks to a sophisticated, specially-created database, the ability to cross-reference and evaluate tens of thousands of analytical results. In special cases, molecular biological methods (gene sequencing) can also be applied.

Assays:

More and more often authorities require quantitative assessment of the characteristic contents of the product or of the medicinally active ingredient. This is also true for toxicological assessments.

Tests:

Heavy metals, pesticide residues, aflatoxins and other mycotoxins, microbial contamination and other environmental toxins in food and medicinal herbs are not allowed to exceed officially specified limits. Currently sample testing for over 600 pesticides is possible, with the range of available measurements paralleling the development of products within the chemical industry. Requirements of the European Pharmacopoeia and the Regulation (EC) No. 396/2005) and other relevant provisions are taken into account.

Classical Tests:

Naturally Phytax is also competent in the performance of classical, but nevertheless still useful analyses such as the assessment of water, extractives, acid-insoluble ash, loss on drying, bitterness value, swelling index, colour intensity etc.

Our Product – Certificate of Analysis

A Phytax Certificate of Analysis, created according to the individual needs of our customers, is almost universally valid because Phytax is:

  • a Swissmedic (Swiss Agency for Therapeutic Products) approved company and entitled to perform above-mentioned tests on drugs
  • GMP certified
  • has a qualification system in accordance with ISO 9001: 2000
  • and is authorized via a MRA (Mutual Recognition Agreement) to conduct valid analyses for a number of States

Certificates from Phytax are:

  • recognised in Switzerland, the EU, EFTA, in the EWR-member states, in Japan, Australia, Canada and the USA
  • conform to the Swiss legislation and the German and Austrian Pharmacists Operating Procedure (ApBetrO §§ 6 + 11, or ABO 2005 §§ 5-7)

Customer Advisory Service

Phytax possesses a unique know-how in the West regarding the identification and quality control of plant material.

Experts from Phytax are available to answer questions that go far beyond the issues of an Analysis Certificate, including our specialised knowledge on the current status of medicinal herbs from Asia.

Phytax is professional, fast, and flexible and we deliver on time.

Certificate of Analysis

Example of certificate

Taraxaci herba

Dienstleistungen

Leistungsverzeichnis der Phytax GmbH

Phytax analysiert und qualifiziert in folgenden Bereichen:

  • Botanische Identität von Pflanzenmaterial
  • Quantitative Bestimmungen von Inhaltsstoffen
  • Reinheitsprüfungen
  • Toxikologische Beurteilungen und Risikoanalysen
  • Sicherheitsdatenblätter

Analysen gemäss sämtlichen behördlichen Vorgaben, insbesondere den Pharmakopöen Europas, Chinas, Taiwans, Japans und der USA, sowie den länderspezifischen Anforderungen der Lebensmittelverordnungen.

Botanische Identifizierung:

Bestimmung von Pflanzenmaterial jeglicher Herkunft und in jeder Form auf seine botanische Identität.

Ausgehend von der Situation bei der Gründung von Phytax im Jahre 1998 entwickelte die Firma ein grosses Knowhow in der botanischen Identifizierung von Pflanzenmaterial aus China, welches in den 1980er-Jahren erstmals in Form von getrockneten Pflanzenteilen (Wurzeln, Blätter, Früchte, Samen, Hölzer…) und wenig später als trockene oder flüssige Extrakte im deutschsprachigen Raum von Ärzten und Therapeuten der Traditionellen Chinesischen Medizin (TCM) verwendet wurde. Komplizierend war die Tatsache, dass viele dieser Medizinaldrogen in vorbehandelter Form vorlagen, beispielsweise gekocht oder geröstet, manchmal unter Zusatz von Mitteln wie Essig, Reiswein, Honig, Ingwersaft oder gewissen Mineralien. Weitere, noch detailliertere Vorbehandlungsmethoden komplizierten manchmal die Analytik zusätzlich.

Die Kräuter aus China stammen aus Anbau oder Wildsammlung mit entsprechender Varietät. Verfälschungen als bewusste oder unabsichtliche Täuschungen waren und sind nicht selten.

Phytax erstellt hauseigene Pflanzen-Monografien, deren Umfang oft sehr weit über die nicht selten ungenügenden Angaben der vorhandenen Standardwerke wie Pharmakopöen gewisser Länder hinausgehen.

Phytax verfügt heute über Tausende von Referenzpflanzen, Probenextrakten, Mikrotomschnitte, Dünnschichtchromatogrammen, HPLC- und FT-IR-Spektren, eine umfangreiche Bibliothek an Fachliteratur, vor allem auch hochspezialisierte in chinesischer Sprache und Schrift und kann dank einer eigens erstellten raffinierten Datenbank Zehntausende von Analysenresultate nach allen Richtungen und Fragestellungen auswerten. In besonderen Fällen können auch molekularbiologische Verfahren (Gensequenzierungen) Sinn machen.

Quantifizierung von Inhaltsstoffen (Gehaltsbestimmungen):

Mehr und mehr verlangen Behörden nach quantitativen Erhebungen von charakteristischen, oder für die klinische Wirkung relevanten Inhaltsstoffen. Auch für toxikologische Beurteilungen bestehen diesbezügliche Vorgaben.

Reinheitsprüfungen:

Schwermetalle, Pestizide, Aflatoxine und andere Mykotoxine, mikrobielle Verunreinigungen und weitere Umweltgifte dürfen in Lebensmitteln und Heilkräutern behördlich festgelegte Grenzwerte nicht überschreiten. Probematerial kann auf mehr als 600 Pestizide getestet werden. Die Palette der möglichen Messungen verläuft parallel zur Entwicklung der Produkte der chemischen Industrie. Vorgaben aus der Europäischen Pharmakopöe und die Verordnung über Höchstgehalte (EG Nr. 396/2005) und weitere relevante Bestimmungen werden bei der Beurteilung berücksichtigt.

Klassische Prüfungen:

Selbstverständlich ist Phytax auch in der Lage, klassische, aber nichtsdestotrotz heute oft noch immer nützliche Analysen durchzuführen, beispielsweise Untersuchungen auf Wassergehalt, Extraktgehalt, salzsäureunlösliche Asche, Trocknungsverlust, Bitterwert, Quellungszahl, Färbekraft etc.

Unser Produkt – das Analysenzertifikat:

Unser Haus verlässt ein Analysenzertifikat, das gemäss dem individuellen Auftrag unserer Kunden erstellt ist und das seine Gültigkeit im grössten Teil der Welt hat, denn Phytax ist

  • ein von Swissmedic (Schweizerisches Heilmittelinstitut) anerkannter Betrieb und berechtigt, obgenannte Prüfungen an Arzneimitteln durchführen zu dürfen.
  • GMP-zertifiziert
  • und verfügt über ein Qualifizierungssystem gemäss ISO 9001:2000
  • über ein MRA (mutual recognition agreement) berechtigt, für eine Vielzahl von Staaten gültige Analysen durchzuführen

Zertifikate von Phytax sind

  • in der Schweiz, der EU, EFTA, in den EWR-Mitgliedstaaten, in Japan, Australien, Kanada und den USA anerkannt
  • konform mit der Schweizer Gesetzgebung und der deutschen und österreichischen Apothekerbetriebsordnung (ApBetrO §§ 6 + 11, bzw. ABO 2005 §§ 5-7)

Service

Phytax verfügt über ein in der westlichen Welt einzigartiges Wissen im Bereich der Identifizierung und Qualifizierung von Pflanzenmaterial.

Fachleute von Phytax stehen Ihnen für Fragen zur Verfügung, die weit über die Themen eines Analysenzertifikates hinausreichen. Spezielle Kenntnisse bestehen zur Situation von Heilkräutern aus dem asiatischen Raum.

Phytax arbeitet kompetent, schnell, flexibel und termintreu.

Analysenzertifikat

Beispiel Zertifkat